San Diego Taxpayers
Educational Foundation


The San Diego Taxpayers Educational Foundation (SDTEF) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit founded in 1988 with the purpose of conducting studies and researching activities for the support and benefit of the San Diego County Taxpayers Association.

The mission of the SDTEF is to conduct fiscal and economic research and analysis of governmental revenue and expenditure policies in San Diego County.

SDTEF partners with local universities to educate local leaders, public officials, and community members interested in learning about complex public policy issue areas. Key services provided include Educational course work and nonpartisan studies. Educational coursework may be both for-credit and not-for-credit.

SDTEF Board of Trustees

  • Matt Harris, San Diego Regional Airport Authority

  • Rick Gentry, San Diego Housing Commission

  • Haney Hong, SDTEF President

  • Barry Jantz, Grossmont Healthcare District

  • Kim Kawada, SANDAG

  • Jill Monroe, Point Loma Nazarene University

  • Jack Monger, Former SDCTA Board Chairman

  • Job Nelson, San Diego Unified Port District

  • Charlie Ng, MiraCosta College

  • Greg Stein, SDCTA Board Chairman

  • Josh Shapiro, UC San Diego Extension

  • Denise Vedder, San Diego County Water Authority

  • Meena Westford, Metropolitan Water District

  • Mike Williams, University of San Diego